So long suckers

Yesterday was my last day in the office and to be honest, I’m not ecstatic. Maybe I will be once it sinks in, but for the moment I feel a bit strange. Almost like I’m just on holidays and I’ll be going back in a few weeks. I’m still officially an employee until 10th May because I’m taking four weeks leave which is AWESOME. This means I’ll get Good Friday, Easter Monday, Anzac Day & Labour Day as paid holidays! Not to mention the fact that over the next four weeks (while I’m not working there) I’m still technically ‘earning’ leave credits so I’ll get a bit extra out of them in my final pay check when all my benefits are paid out.

But wait! There’s more…
I was sad when I realised I’d have to give back my new mobile handset so I asked my boss if I could keep it (just the handset, not the SIM). I seriously didn’t expect him to say yes because it’s worth over $800 retail but you don’t know if you don’t ask. Besides, what’s he going to do? He can’t fire me. So I asked and he said yes!
Maybe when my replacement starts it’ll dawn on him that they have to fork out for a new handset… but even then I can’t see that bothering him too much. If there’s one man who knows how to go over budget, it’s him.

After I finally left work last night at 6:45pm Burfit and I went out to a nice romantic dinner at Bespoke in Albion which was devine. I would recommend it if you’ve got something momentous to celebrate and don’t mind spending around $40 for some slow-cooked duck or snapper pie.

I’m starting to feel a little better!

5 responses to “So long suckers

  1. Project WANNABE

    Hey, probably a long shot here, but are you connected with the Joyclyn Bennett who wrote the song “Darkest Hour” that’s posted on the jMusic site?

  2. Yes. How did you make that connection?

  3. Project WANNABE

    I was looking for more music by the same person, so I googled “Joyclyn Bennett.” The only things that came up were the jMusic page and this blog.

    I didn’t mean to sort of invade a private space here. I was just curious about how you made that song and whether you have any more music recorded.

  4. Oh, that’s quite funny! Why didn’t I think of that? 🙂

    I’m sorry to disappoint you but there is no more music to share with you as I haven’t pursued electronic music composition since I left uni.

    I wrote Darkest Hour about 7 years ago for an assessment item which required the use of java programming (very basic in my case). From memory I created half a dozen independent threads of varying lengths, then smashed them together – making sure the shorter threads repeated as many times as needed until they all synched up on one again. Or something like that… I had been studying Indian classical music around the same time.

    I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the one composition of mine to have survived my degree!

  5. Project WANNABE

    Oh, too bad! Well thanks for the info & good luck with whatever you’re doing now!

Leave a Reply

