Psalm 121

I read Psalm 121 this morning and I felt so comforted. Psalms have never really done much for me because I’ve never felt connected with the writer or their situation. But (despite the fact that I’m not a pilgrim on my way to Jerusalem), this morning I got it and I’m so thankful.

Psalm 121 (NIV)

I lift up my eyes to the hills
where does my help come from?

My help comes from the LORD,
the Maker of heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot slip
he who watches over you will not slumber;

indeed, he who watches over Israel
will neither slumber nor sleep.

The LORD watches over you
the LORD is your shade at your right hand;

the sun will not harm you by day,
nor the moon by night.

The LORD will keep you from all harm
he will watch over your life;

the LORD will watch over your coming and going
both now and forevermore.

2 responses to “Psalm 121

  1. Do you mean this one?

    I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills: from whence cometh my help.

    My help cometh even from the Lord: who hath made heaven and earth.

    He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: and he that keepeth me will not sleep.

    Behold, he that keepeth Israel: shall neither slumber nor sleep.

    The Lord himself is thy keeper: the Lord is thy defence upon thy right hand.

    So that the sun shall not burn thee by day: neither the moon by night.

    The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil: yea, it is even he that shall keep thy soul.

    The Lord shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in: from this time forth for evermore.

    I only know this because I sang it a lot in my youth.
    Why do people insist on trying to improve on perfection?

    But I agree with you that it is a beautiful and wonrous psalm.

  2. And yes I do realise that my last post confirms that I am old and set in my ways.
    Ah well….

Leave a Reply

