New rule, new rule


Always take the camera. Always.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve decided to leave the camera at home because “we’re only walking one block to Safeway and back” and then noticed what would be a really great shot. I can’t rely on my memory for the finer details. Hence the new rule.

This week I’ve been trying to walk home from work by a different route everyday in an attempt to see/hear/remember as much of downtown Vancouver and the West End as I can. Yesterday I actually remembered I had the camera with me (thanks new rule!) and took a handful of photos. They’re not particularly pretty or artistic but that’s not the point. I’m – pointlessly – trying to capture what it’s like living here. We’ve got 2 weeks left and the intensity of appreciating what we have here has tripled. Everyday could be the last of something. For example, yesterday I bought 2 books of 10 bus tickets. That should see me through until we leave. It’s a small thing, but it still feels important.

Anyway, here’s what I saw on my way home yesterday:

  • The view from the new convention centre.
  • Some cute house boats that are clearly BFF.
  • Brave little daffodils.
  • Seagulls, people and mountains.
  • Sleeping geese.

3 responses to “New rule, new rule

  1. I was in Vancouver way back in ’86 for Expo. What a beautiful city it is!

  2. Agreed; it is gorgeous.

  3. It can’t possibly be time for you to come home yet. Bloody hell. A year goes fast.

    I, however, am VERY excited. 🙂

Leave a Reply

