Sweet, sweet rebellion

Scene: Mother has brought home some left over cheesecake from her bible study group the previous night.

Mother (to sister): There’s a piece of cheesecake in the fridge if you want it.

/I prick my ears up at this on account of my fondness for cheesecake.

Sister: Is it gluten free?

Mother: No, but Burfit won’t eat it and Dad and Durdlin shouldn’t eat it.

(Shouldn’t? Excuse me?)

I say nothing even though my mouth is bursting with words I would dearly like to set free.

Shortly after this I escape downstairs and sit alone, in the quiet, thinking.

About 10 mins later Father seeks me out. He is carrying a bowl.

He tells me he brought me some dessert but what I hear is him telling me he loves me and that he understands my hurt.

I enjoyed that cheesecake. It was really good with a bit of the icecream we’ve been hiding in the freezer downstairs.

One response to “Sweet, sweet rebellion

  1. Goosebumps. Lots of juicy goosbumps.
    Glad you enjoyed your yummy cheesecake, and your special moment with your Dad.

Leave a Reply

