In which Durdlin doesn’t want to play

Usually the differences between me and the rest of my team at work simmer under the surface. I hear them talk about how drunk they were on the weekend or who’s pissed off at who on Facebook and I take a deep breath and smile inwardly.  I’m glad I don’t need to engage on a personal level.  We mostly talk about work related stuff and I’m comfortable with that.

But today I feel particularly uncomfortable. Like the differences between them and me are written in block capitals and stapled to my forehead.

Today is our team Christmas lunch and I am not attending.

Points for consideration:

  1. A week or so ago, a colleague said, “It’ll be a hoot! Last year we prettied ourselves up in Christmas decorations and stuff, and got really drunk. You should come!”
  2. Yesterday people were loading up on carbs in preparation.
  3. Today I heard someone announce they’re wearing their “drinking shoes”.
  4. Today almost all the women are wearing something with sequins.
  5. An exchange I had with my boss prior to her leaving for the lunch:

Are you staying at work this afternoon?
Yes.
Gee, I’m glad I’m not you!
Likewise.

I imagine they think I’m terribly dull, a religious nut or a snob.
Or all of the above.


I understand people getting together with friends and enjoying a few drinks.  But it’s the idea that you can’t just work together, you must also play together that rubs me the wrong way.

I don’t want to play and you’re not the boss of me.

I will stay in the office until 5:00pm to make sure phone calls are answered.
I will catch the bus home.
I will help Burfit give The Doctor his drugs.
We will eat dinner.
We will watch a DVD/play a board game/drink tea.
I will go to bed well before midnight.

I’m just a different flavour of normal, okay?

7 responses to “In which Durdlin doesn’t want to play

  1. Tricky really. What’s normal? Who’s definition is correct? I suggest that you are normal and your version of reality is authoritative, and the rest of us should just keep up. Bye the way, I don’t want to go to their Christmas Party either. I will be attending the Bob’s party for the first time in many years, and expecting to take months to recover from that.
    They will sing at me, I just know it.
    Gilbert and bloody Sullivan …

  2. Having said all that, I quite like sequins 🙂

  3. Here Here!
    I feel the same way. I almost yelled at one young girl the other day, because she had to get up at 5am because her mobile phone went off with a txt, and then went straight back to bed until 7:30. Gasp! The horrors of your life!

    I’m a parenting snob, one of those ‘Just wait till you have kids’ people…I never thought it would happen to me!

    Last year I was pregnant and had a great excuse to get trashed…still not sure what this years will be…

  4. I think you’re a much more tasty flavour of normal.

Leave a Reply

