APT6

Last weekend we went to the

and it was rad!I’m so proud of Brisbane for doing something unique (and making entry free-of-charge).

At the Art Gallery they had some stuff for kids


where they could build something that flies (in theory – or not even in theory)

and, among other things, take a page with a letter or symbol from another language and make a drawing.

These are my favourites:

And! (how excitement!) We happened to be there at the right time to see one of only four presentations of Shinji Ohmaki’s Memorial Rebirth 2008.

Yay! Bubbles!

In the GoMA building we saw loads of other really interesting stuff, for example:

The piece I liked the most is by Wit Pimkanchanapong and is called Cloud.  It’s made from 6000 A3 sheets of paper, bulldog clips, plastic stoppers and wire. It looked absolutely stunning in GoMA’s foyer and I took about a bazillion shots (20) of it from different angles.

Here are some of them.



Attention anyone not from Brisbane

If you find yourself in town and the APT is on (NB ‘triennial’ = every 3 years) look me up and I’ll play host. And we can have coffee and a slice of carrot cake with cream cheese icing.  Mmmm, cream cheese icing…

3 responses to “APT6

  1. Oh yes I loved Cloud as well, as did several other of my friends who share Certain Personality Traits …

    I also loved the Room of String (not its real name) because watching the people interact with the room made me helpless with laughter.

    And the young man seeing how long he was able to carry his Mum. What a good boy . And …… etc etc

  2. How long is it on for? I’m free this weekend! It all looks so fun and beautiful..

Leave a Reply

