Week ending 21 May, 2010

3.25pm, Monday, 17 May, 2010

(Overheard): I wonder if we should reiterate that again?

Iterate means to utter again or repeat.
Reiterate is, although far more common in everyday language, actually superfluous.
But to “reiterate again“?
Good grief Marjorie.


6.10pm, Thursday, 20 May, 2010

One Just World presentation on pandemics @ SLQ.
The motto next to the university logo on the PowerPoint slides of the first speaker:

“Ponder the improbable”


7.35am, Friday, 21 May, 2010

While listening to The Bugle, Episode 1, “How like Vietnam is Iraq”, I hear Andy Zaltzman say:

…but the whole human rights angle is obviously quite a potent one in the war on terror. I know the whole issue of human rights in increasingly difficult because there are more humans in the world than ever before – but unfortunately – the same number of rights to go around. So some people will miss out. Don’t blame the government. Blame maths. And I guess human rights has become a bit like musical chairs and you’ve just got to hope when the music stops your chair doesn’t have wires coming out of it.


3.15pm, Friday, 21 May, 2010

Durdlin: How am I going? I feel ‘not yet competent’. *
Boss: You’re going really well, especially considering what’s been going on the last couple of weeks.
Durdlin: Oh good. I just wanted to make sure I wasn’t disappointing anyone.
Boss: No! (then whispering) I’m fighting for you.
Durdlin:  🙂


*Little VET industry gag for you there. No, no, you’re welcome.

One response to “Week ending 21 May, 2010

  1. I’m fighting for you too! Go Team Ace!

    I like your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

