Week ending 18 June, 2010

10.00am(ish), Monday, 14 June, 2010

Our pedestal fan, in cahoots with the mix-master*, locked me in the laundry.
After realising 1) our house is harder to break into than I suspected and 2) that I just don’t have what it takes to pick a lock with a bobby-pin, I was forced to go next door (in these pants) to ask our burly neighbour if I could use his phone to call Dad, keeper of the spare key.

*I’ll explain later. I’m tired.


9.02am, Tuesday, 15 June, 2010

Back at work the new girl in my team oohs over my laserface.

New girl: I hope you lasered them back.
Durdlin: No, but I did give them cheek.

I’m here all week. Tip your waitress.


7.40am, Thursday, 17 June, 2010

The Bugle informs me that “piracy is a dominant gene”.


8.15-8.35am, Friday, 18 June, 2010

My boss and I swap cat stories. My favourites:

  • One of her relatives seems to attracts cats. One by one, all the cats on his street ended up living with him. He tried to take them back to their owners but by the time he got home, they’d be waiting for him there. He’s built them all houses in his backyard.
  • Another of her relatives had a cat called Boris. When she was on the phone and Boris wanted attention, he would simply put his paw on the receiver and end the call. My boss says it was not uncommon for her to call back a few minutes later saying, “sorry about that, I had to feed Boris”.


4.30pm, Friday, 18 June, 2010

For those playing at home, I visited my hairdresser again.

And I got fringed.
Diagonal style.



2 responses to “Week ending 18 June, 2010

  1. Renae Foottit

    Loving the pants, LOVING the fringe, and can’t wait to hear about that pesky pedestal fan and conniving mix-master!

  2. I knew that home appliances were evil, but I didn’t know they could lock a person out .. they don’t even have arms or legs

Leave a Reply

