In which Durdlin is stabbed. Twice.

No cause for alarm: I gave blood for the first time this afternoon.

I’ve always felt like the sort of person who would give blood but somehow circumstances have conspired against me and I have never actually been able to give blood. But since I finished my marathon course of antibiotics (after 3 years give or take) it dawned on me that I could try again.

A nd then I promptly forgot about it.

But this week at work I saw a poster that said a bus would come to our building to pick up anyone who wanted to give blood. So I signed up and (after missing the bus) finally got to do it. And after my right arm started bruising almost immediately, they switched to my left so now I have a very fetching bandage around each arm, a pen and a lolly pop. Yay!

I was feeling rather elated until I nearly fainted at the bus stop.

Now I’m just feeling a bit woozy.


4 responses to “In which Durdlin is stabbed. Twice.

  1. Good for you! I think giving blood is such a great thing. I signed Hubs and I up for a bit of a “blood bonding” session (that sounds so wrong) and they ended up not wanting my blood cos my iron levels were too low. So he had to bleed without me 🙂
    Anyway, well done and keep up those fluids and sugars!

  2. Go you! I’m impressed. I think it’s good that you’ve got battle scars because then, when someone asks what happened, you can smile and smugly say, ‘I gave blood… LOTS of blood.’

    🙂

  3. Well done! Giving blood is an important thing, you’ve saved a life today.

  4. Thanks, I feel good about it.

    And you should see the bruise I have now. It’s pretty impressive.

Leave a Reply

