Birthday consumer frenzy

from http://thxthxthx.com/ (a thank you note a day)

Over the last couple of weeks I have been given (and have bought) an awful lot of things: tasty things, shiny things, fun things, the list is embarrassingly long.

Suffice it to say, my holidays were extraordinary; the best most selfishly indulgent two weeks I think I’ve had since… well, who knows. Two weeks of getting, going to, listening to, watching and eating almost anything I wanted because it was my birthday.

Mt Lofty Botanic Gardens

We visited Adelaide (which I shall henceforth refer to as Radelaide) (yes, I did just say that and no, I’m not taking it back) and had a superb few days with Hannah and Craig: they drove us around, laughed at my lame jokes, cooked us dinner, told us interesting bits about Radelaide’s history, bought us lunch, got ekka legs with us and generally put themselves out to make us feel welcome in their town. Thanks Hannah! Thanks Craig!

Then we stayed in Melbourne for a few days and pretty much walked around and did whatever took our fancy. My actual birthday was spent mostly on Brunswick Street, Fitzroy with a couple of detours to the Rose St Artist Markets (we bought 2 x art!). While we were resting our ekka legs and eating some lunch, I saw a small poster for a series of My Friend The Chocolate Cake gigs and noticed that they were playing a show that night at a venue within walking distance from our (exceptional, carbon-neutral, wind-powered!) hotel. We must have snapped the last two tickets because the venue was chockers. Birthday yay!

But was that enough?
Negatory.

We had a couple of days at home with the Doctor and then took off again for Bribie Island where I continued to indulge in wonderful food, sleep-ins, samurai sudoku (2 for 2!), making chocolate cheesecake and such.

Big-super-mega-birthday-thanks to everyone (especially the ever-patient Burfit) from a very happy durdlin.

Chocolate cheesecake ya'll

A happy durdlin


3 responses to “Birthday consumer frenzy

  1. I love to see a happy durdlin in the springtime, or any other time šŸ™‚

  2. I have remembered 2 more unique facts about Radelaide: Ben Folds wrote a song about it, and it was the first place in Australia where women got the vote.

    PS For the record we were not put out in the slightest.

  3. holy wow that’s awesome. I seem to have somehow missed this post so HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!
    Also, whatever camera you’re using is so awesome! I’m super impressed.

Leave a Reply

